Monday, 23 June 2014

Foyer Recital: 29 June – Sneak Preview of The Addams Family: a new musical



2014 Foyer Recitals… Sunday 2.30pm
FREE tickets available now - limited seats.

Charters Towers is fortunate to have many talented young musicians, and they are the star attractions with a series of FREE recitals in the Peter Black Foyer at The World Theatre.

Join us for fine music with afternoon tea from Henry’s Cafe

Musicians will perform for 30-40 minutes, either as a solo or in combination with others. Bring your friends and enjoy a relaxing Sunday afternoon  of culture.

Foyer Recitals: a World Theatre initiative in association with Friends of the Theatre.

Transformers 4: Age of Extinction (M)



165 min  -  Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi 
2D
Tuesday, Jul 8 10:15AM
Friday, Jul 11 10:15AM
Saturday, Jul 12 8:20PM
Wednesday, Jul 16 8:20PM  FINAL
3D
Monday, Jul 7 10:15AM
Wednesday, Jul 9 8:20PM
Thursday, Jul 10 6:30PM
Friday, Jul 11 8:20PM
Sunday, Jul 13 3:20PM FINAL

An automobile mechanic and his daughter make a discovery that brings down the Autobots and Decepticons - and a paranoid government official - on them.
Director: Michael Bay
Writer: Ehren Kruger
Stars: Mark Wahlberg, Nicola Peltz, Jack Reynor


22 Jump Street (MA15+)



 112 min - Action | Comedy | Crime


  Wednesday, Jun 25        10:15AM;   6:40PM

  Friday, Jun 27                  8:30PM

  Saturday, Jun 28             8:30PM

  Sunday, Jun 29                3:30PM

  Tuesday, Jul 1                  10:15AM

  Wednesday, Jul 2            8:30PM

  Friday, Jul 4                      8:40PM

  Saturday, Jul 5                 8:40PM

  Sunday, Jul 6                    3:40PM
  Wednesday, Jul 9            8:40PM   FINAL


After making their way through high school (twice), big changes are in store for officers Schmidt and Jenko when they go deep undercover at a local college.

Directors: Phil Lord, Christopher Miller

Writers: Michael Bacall (screenplay), Oren Uziel (screenplay)

Stars: Channing Tatum, Jonah Hill, Ice Cube

PLEASE NOTE MA15+: People under 15yrs MUST be accompanied by a parent or adult guardian for the duration of the film in the cinema. Parental permission to see an MA 15+ film is not sufficient. Photo ID essential - Under 15's with Parent or 18+ Guardian.

Saturday, 14 June 2014

Share House - by Topology. 7:00pm Sunday 22 June

Meet John... from Topology's Share House...

Share House - by Topology. 7:00pm Sunday 22 June

Share House is Topology’s unique show that marries music and theatre on stage. A “live-action silent film” loosely set in the 1970s, Share House follows 5 dysfunctional bandmates sharing a disheveled flat and interwoven life; full of warmth, fun and unrequited love.

The housemates make their squalor bearable through making music, but they can't ignore it forever. Disaster strikes, forcing each of them to face hard realities.

Portraying fictional characters while playing intricate original music, Topology explores an unprecedented mode of performance fusing physical theatre and music - a wordless narrative conveyed through virtuosic instrumentation.

This is your chance to see internationally renowned group Topology...only 4 performances in regional Qld...

7:00pm  Sunday 22 June
Tickets: Adults $29.50; Students/Group 10+/Conc $25

Tickets on sale NOW at the Box Office Mon- Fri 10am-12.30pm

AND at the cinema box office whenever movies are showing

AND you can buy tickets online http://tinyurl.com/ShowingAtWorldTheatre

Featuring Support performance by young local musicians after workshops with the Topology musicians...

REVIEW:  The performance of Topology's original work was outstanding, with the bonus of 40+ young musicians performing an original composition as a result of workshops with the visiting professionals.
photo by Karen Tenni